Mulberry Street Concert


Mulberry Street – Koppel/Colley /Blade Collective + The Orchestra

The work is inspired by Danish photographer Jacob Riis’ famous photographs, published in the book ‘How The Other Half Lives’, which showed the harsh reality of New York’s poorest around 1890. The images, which also feature in tonight’s concert, have not lost their power.

Koppel sets the tone for the encounter between the emigrant masses of the old world and the greatness of the new, as well as the fatal urban traps Riis felt first-hand as an emigrant.

The work was written by Anders Koppel for the unique combination of jazz trio and symphony orchestra, and the soloists belong to the absolute elite of the international jazz scene: Benjamin Koppel, saxophone, and the two top American musicians Scott Colley, bass, and Brian Blade, drums.


Pre-release concert at the Bremen Theatre, Copenhagen (DK)

The release will be celebrated with a Mulberry Street concert at the Bremen Teater, Copenhagen (DK) on 12th November, where the three top soloists will perform this unique work, this time in an arrangement with the big band The Orchestra.

The three musicians have played with jazz icons such as Herbie Hancock, Michael Brecker, Chick Corea, Joe Lovano, Lee Konitz, Jim Hall, Paul Bley, Wayne Shorter, Kenny Werner, Bob Dylan and Norah Jones.

After the concert, the Koppel/Colley/Blade Collective will take the stage alone for a set featuring highlights from the trio’s nearly decade-long career – and perhaps secret guest soloists.

Tickets here


Contact information

Mathilde Lunderskov
Phone: (+45) 25 75 02 95

Cowbell Music:

Anders Koppel:
Benjamin Koppel:
Scott Colley:
Brian Blade: